er..That birth is Reserved!!!

TAP TAP!!TAP TAP!!…A strong smell of jasmine filled my nasal cavity as my shoulder was poked back into consciousness. She spoke in a foreign tongue, was 6 times my size and I could tell she wasn’t happy about something by the way she was vigorously shaking her hands and pointing at something. ‘Ladies!’ she said. I obliged and found myself seated 3 rows behind her.

TAP TAP!!TAP TAP!!.. ‘Not again!’ I thought to myself as I looked up to find a big burly man, again seemingly angrily, pointing at something! ‘SC/ST’ it said. Once again I obliged. 15 minutes and ‘O(ther)BCs’ , ‘E(conomically)BCs, ‘S(ocially)BCs’, ‘N(ot)R(eally)BCs’, ‘P(roud2be)BCs’ and ‘ W(anna)BCs’ later I found myself crammed in a minuscule standing area with a ‘Gazillion’ other unlucky souls staring at the sign ‘GENERAL’!!

As I looked at the comfortably seated BCs..er..Backward Classes I though to myself ‘What makes them more deserving of that berth than me?their birth?!!!’

Ofcourse things weren’t always like this. Reservation was started keeping very noble ideals in mind!..Make everyone equal. Its ironic how we intend to make People Equal by telling them that They’re Not!!!

What is worse is that policymakers are threatening to legislate this practice into private institutions and boardrooms!Manmohan Singh stressing on the need for reservation in Private Sector companies and some obscure American senator(pardon my ignorance) suggesting reservation in the boardroom for Women. Yes! That’s right..Give every Man a reason to question every Woman Executives abilities and success by saying ‘She’s only here cause she’s a woman!’..WOW!What a way to deal with Gender Bias…er..NOT!!!

Homeward Bound (back to India i mean). Now you have to know that Something Somewhere is wrong with your policy if people are fighting to be called Backward?! (Gujjar agitation anyone?)..So we’re trying to reduce the number of ‘Backward People’ by increasing the Number of People we call ‘Backward’?!!..*Clap Clap*

Rajasthan (after adding 5% quota for the Gujjars) has now reached a figure of 68% reservation. But it still comes 2nd to Tamil Nadu with its 69% reservation that is applicable to an astounding 87% of the population!!!So we are giving rights to some people by taking them away from others?

Now don’t get me wrong! I’m not 100% against reservation. But it should be restricted to tickets (Not election tickets!) and educational institutions (only for people who cannot genuinely afford them..strain out the Creamy Layer!!!). That’s right! I don’t believe caste based reservation should be needed in the Government! If you’re telling me that after SIXTY TWO years of independence we haven’t been able to sensitize our population…

Well then the only thing Backward….is the way in which we are headed!!!

Courtesy –> Harbinger

~ by TCG Inc. on August 26, 2009.

Leave a comment